Interview: Ammon Dei, Gallente FC


How long have you been playing EvE? 
Playing since Early 2008, Ammon Dei was not my original character in game.

What attracted you to the game? 
It was the sand box, for years I played a small game called Shadow Bane. PvP is in my blood, and the risk vs reward is something that makes me keep coming back for more.

What other aspects of the game have you tried other than militia?
I have tried every thing but industrial. Tried, 0.0 life, pirate, Merc, and yes even some missioning. But only in order to support my pvp habit.

What is your most memorable experience in FW? 
There has been so many it is hard to say. I remember getting Hot dropped by 70 stealth bombers and recons in this fight.  Then listening to Tekitha from SOTF, telling a Raiden. Representative to pack sand in not so nice terms. “edited out the profanity for this post.”

I remember our first couple days after moving to Egghelende. And the complete destruction of any and all fleets the Amarr threw at us. So much so that since that time they have afforded us only one other large fight. That happened last night and that I missed out on it. But that DQ blizzard sure was good.

Why do you fly with Gallente over the other militias?
The NON-RP answer is, I fly with my friends. The RP answer is because the Gallente Federation allows me the freedom that the other factions do not.

Have you been in other FW Gallente corps? 
Yes, I have flown with our EU allies from SOTF “Shadows of the Federation” QCATS and SOTF were both part of the “Villore Accords” agreement, and a leader in the Gallente MDP prior to SOTF leaving to explore options outside of Faction Warfare.

Do you participate in plexing and system capturing? Do you think it is a worthwhile endeavor? 
I participate as I can find time for it. The biggest reason I do it is for the opportunity for a good fight. The plexing mechanic has no reward for doing them besides the bragging rights or the small RP community. Were the reward to change and make it worth while I would definitely consider doing more of it.

What do you think about the use of alt spies, neutral alts for bonuses, and outside cap support? 
Honestly, I am not much for having spies. It makes you soft and you tend to rely on them too much. Since you do not always have them a good pilot/FC can handle the battle with out the spies. Since we are an NBSI Corp, neutrals and alts are just more targets. As for using neutrals for bonuses if it gives us an advantage in PVP and they are online we will use them.

Who do you admire in Gallente FW? 
There are several for different reasons, and I am sure I will miss some of them. So lets just leave it as I admire my fellow QCATS for helping me make this game fun. The Gallente plexing crew for their hard work keeping the dream of plexing alive. And my friends in Gallente Militia that continue to put up with me on coms.

Which of your opponents do you most admire?
GavinGoodrich comes to mind. As well as newcomer Predator Elite and the other Amarr FC’s that I do not know the names of yet. Only so far as even outnumbered and knowing they are going to get the hammer dropped on them. They still bring the fight. I enjoy the fight win or lose.

What do you think your strengths and weaknesses are as a pilot? 
I have been told that my strength is the ability to multi task. FC a fleet, be on 3 voice com channels, 5 Private chats, 6 intel channels. And still keep the information passing to the right people. I enjoy being the leader on the field. And equally enjoy letting some one else FC’s and just sitting back shooting the primary to enjoy the fight. I could be a better Solo Pilot. That comes from just doing it. But when your corp members log in and asks “where are you and what you doing can I come too?” What starts, as a solo roam rapidly becomes a 10 – 20 – 40 man fleet. And I love it every time.

Any particular killmails and/or loss mails you are especially proud or embarrassed of? 
I do not get too worked up over Kill board stats. I do worry about the pilots that fly under me and how they will replace their ship when I do something crazy/stupid and get them killed. I always try and help them compensate for their losses with loot from the field when available. Or tell them before we engage, this may turn out bad you all in for it? With out fail they know what is in store for us and go in any way. I honestly think that is why the Gallente and Minmatar factions win so many fights. Because they are not afraid to go in guns blazing outnumbered.

What do you enjoy most about FW, and how do you think FW varies from flying in o.o? 
Faction warfare is the “Counterstrike” version of Eve. You log in and with in a few min you can be in a fleet out shooting the bad guys. If you need to leave 5 min later due to real life it is ok. Dock up fly home later. Your not 10 jumps away in hostile territory and 100’s of bubble camps between you and home. No station to dock up in and you know your fleet will be long gone by the time you log back in. The 0.0 flying the countless hours of sitting next to a Titan waiting for the Jump order that may or may not come. Or the hours sitting in a Capital ship waiting for the Jump order that might come. Unless your one of the leaders or FC’s in the 0.0 Corp/alliance you are flying with, is what you have to look forward too.

Faction warfare with few exceptions most fights are under 40 vs 40 fights. Majority are 20 vs 20 or less. In 0.0 some fights are 100 + or more vs 100 + or more. The small scale stuff happens but typically is more ganks than actual small fights. Or the Blob cometh and you end up in a vat back in your home station.

How long have you been an FC? 
In Eve, been an FC since around the end of 2008. But I have lead groups in other games for far longer. All have been PVP games where the risk vs reward was there similar to Eve.

What do you consider the most difficult part of FCing? 
The hardest part for young FC’s to learn is the ability to process incoming information and paint a picture of what the other side is doing. Then react to that in order to counter it. The other part is New FC’s some times do not have the full and complete trust of the people under them. And what you think is a 20 man fleet is really a 12 man fleet with people warping off at the sign of trouble or not shooting the primary etc etc. The hardest part for me is having a fleet up and finding nothing to shoot at. Or finding an enemy fleet and due to lack of numbers / ships not being able to do any thing but wave in local while they fly by.

What types of gangs do you most enjoy FCing?
Large Fleet battles are what I excel at the bigger the better. Small scale stuff is fun for change of pace and fill up the down time while waiting for that next big fight.

What kind of advice would you give to someone who is an up-and-coming FC?
Read the above about new fc’s. Just Do it, its kind of like solo PVP. The more you do it the better you become at it. Try and let your fleet know what your plans are when you can, some times there isn’t time. Or you have spy’s to feed false info too. Scouts, the right scout will get you a good fight. The wrong scout or poor information will get you and your fleet killed. Lastly be confident about your decision’s and take charge. If you act unsure or act like you don’t know what your doing you will end up with 5 people as Back seat FC’s telling you how to run your fleet. Take charge and take advice but at the end of the day you’re the leader. LEAD

Favorite:

Ship to fly: Interceptor, although I rarely get to fly it.
FW System: Heydieles
Null Sec Alliance: Don’t really have one
Wartarget to shoot: Damar – so many tears
Corpse: Crimper Corpse Muhahahah
Space Station: Heyd Moon 19 Station
Song to fly to: To many coms, too many channels lol don’t have time for Music.
Way to make ISK: Faction Warfare Missions, PVP.

Thank you for doing this interview, any last thoughts?
Thanks for letting me ramble on. Keep up the good work I do read every article. It is good to know the people behind the other screen.

Leave a Reply

