Q & A With PIE


Praetoria Imperialis Excubitoris [PIE]
Amarr Militia

What prompted PIE to leave FW when it did?

After 4 years of FW, I think saying our pilots were burned out on it would be a gross understatement. Pilots were leaving PIE or just not logging in anymore.

Do you think the move to null strengthened, weakened, or had no impact at all on your corp?

Overall it was a good thing. We got to kick back and relax a bit. I think the main thing that came out of it was that we were reminded there are other things to do in EVE that are fun. On the flip side of that, it also reminded us that the grass is not necessarily greener on the other side of the hill.

What was daily life like for PIE in null?

That’s impossible to answer for PIE, as we were all over the place, it was like furlough. For me, I would do roams with CVA and allies once in a while. Mostly it was a time for me to step back from EVE and recharge a bit.

What brought PIE back to FW?

My main goal as CEO is to help PIE pilots experience EVE in whichever way they enjoy, within PIE rules of course ;-). FW is an aspect that I and many other PIE pilots like, so I didn’t want to keep us from that. However….

What kind of goals does PIE have since rejoining FW and do they differ from when PIE was in FW originally?

…. There are some of my pilots that loath FW, and I totally understand that. No one is required to participate in FW anymore. I’m trying to encourage my pilots to NOT overdue any facet of EVE, FW in particular. I don’t want anyone dreading to login because they feel they have to go and plex for six hours or something. FW is great for easy PvP, and for us it’s got the added RP sugar which is nice. Some of my guys will certainly spend a ton of time in FW, but some won’t. My aim is to make PIE enjoyable for all of its pilots, not just the FW guys.

Do you think PIE will ever change any of its well-known rules, ie, PIE only accepts Amarrian toons and only flies Amarrian hulls?

Not on my watch.

But really, no I don’t think so. It’s what makes PIE – PIE. We are the elitist zealots who are better than everyone else, and nothing you can do or say can convince us otherwise, God is on our side, so there!

🙂

What is daily life like for PIE now that you are back in the war zone? What is priority, claiming space or pvping?

For those of us who are doing FW, I’d say both. We don’t like seeing Amarr down so many systems, but it’s also a lot of fun to shoot heathens in the face. The best is when you get to shoot enemies while claiming space for the Empire!

How difficult is it to run a full on RP corp in a militia that so few RP in?

Heh, it can be trying at times, particularly with the more unsavory elements in the militia. We have to strike a very fine balance of “they are militia-mates, but they are horrid, horrid people”. Even if the militia are not ‘RPers’, sometimes they’ll talk about Amarr as ‘their side’ so we try to take those little bits and run with it. If they are being ‘lolrp!’ it’s easy just to ignore them or troll them some by staying IC 🙂

What do you think of the Inferno changes? Also, what is your opinion of the proposed Retribution changes for this winter?

Honestly I’m not too familiar with the Inferno changes other than everyone is saying FW is(was) an ISK making machine. Retribution(and it’s early patch) I think are great strides in getting FW where it really should be.

Thank you, CCP, for making it so you have to kill the Navy NPCs to capture a plex, thank you, thank you, thank you, four years late, but thank you.

Thank you for your time, any parting thoughts or shout outs?

Thank you for having me.

I’ll do a cheap plug: PIE is recruiting, visit PIE PUBLIC in-game and see our recruitment guidelines at http://www.pieinc.co.uk/community/board/index.php?showforum=22

It’s good to be back, I’m looking forward to doing my part for the Empire and having some fun while doing so. To old friends and enemies alike, “I’ll see you in space.”

-Admiral Mitara Newelle-Shutaq, PIE Inc.

3 Responses to “Q & A With PIE”

  1. Kuan Yida Says:

    Excellent, looking forward to shooting Mitara and PIE once again.

  2. Aldrith Shutaq Says:

    Bitch, I will cut you!

  3. Off topic …

    An invitation for Hans to join iLaw. See the other side of his FW equation.

    https://forums.eveonline.com/default.aspx?g=posts&t=165900&find=unread

Leave a Reply

