Girls On Eve


Girls in EVE are special snowflakes, because no two girls are alike. You can quote me on that.

Before EVE I never really considered myself a gamer. I did play World of Warcraft but that was pretty much it. And really, most everyone I knew played WoW, it was just another form of entertainment and the people I knew who played it weren’t like ‘hard core gamers’.

The huge difference between WOW and EVE is that, WoW had tons of girls, it wasn’t really a big deal to be female on that game.

But EVE on the other hand….

I’ve heard the ratio of female gamers on EVE to be something like 5%, not certain if that is correct or not but from what I’ve seen, I would say that is pretty damned close.

You would think that with their being so few girls on EVE, there would be a better sense of camaraderie among the female population but my experiences are far from that.

Simply put, you can’t categorize all girls under one banner, that’s hardly fair. Just like you can’t say that all the guys on EVE are the exact same either.

When I first started EVE, I was hoping to find another girl to be BFFs with on the game but there simply weren’t any around. PIE had one absentee female but when I was a part of the corp, she was on break or something.

Later, once I started joining militia fleets I still rarely ever met another female.

Eventually, we got a girl into our corp and I was ecstatic! Finally I will have a BFF and we will bond and do things together and gossip about people and life will be grand! She was even a roleplayer, like myself, and I was all weeee, this is great.

She fucking hated me lol.

She was pretty much the downfall of my old corp, in fact. She was so catty talking about me in private channels and being a mean girl that I was like, fuck it, I’m leaving corp. I wont rehash that whole drama, you can read about it here if you’re curious.

Moving on!

Somewhere along the way, I was told about the Women of EVE channel, a game channel only for women, verified by the moderators. To get into the channel, you have to go through a whole voice chat on comms with the mod, and talk. (no they don’t ask your bra size or anything girly of that nature)

The channel was nice at first but very quiet. The idea is a good one, a place where girls can chat and bond without any interference with guys. In practice, it was sometimes awkward. You’re basically in a channel with a lot of people you don’t know and have little in common with except you’re female. Sometimes I’d chat, most often not.

On one of my particularly chatty days, some of the girls and I came up with this crazy way of making ISK, and I laughingly told one of my friends about it on Instant Messenger. He asked who, and I told some of the names.

He was like ‘wait a minute, that isn’t a girl.’ I was like, ‘sure it is, girls are verified’, and he is like ‘nope, and I’ve been on comms with him enough to know’. He was the guy’s CEO after all.

I was appalled thinking that some guy infiltrated the ‘safe haven’. I mentioned it in the chat when I found out, talking to some of the girls, something like ‘omg I just found out so-and-so is really a guy’. The next day in the chat, the guy logs on and I confronted him in the chat channel ‘So I hear you’re a guy.”

One of the mods of the channel convos me and tells me that so-and-so is a transgendered.

I felt really bad for ‘outing’ him and immediately opened up a convo and apologized. We had a little chat, everything was fine.

Fast forward two months later, literally to the day, and another mod of that channel sends me a nasty letter telling me I was ‘intolerant’, ‘drama causing’, and ‘hateful’.

Whoa nelly.

I immediately sent a perfectly nice response back, albeit a little confused on why it was being addressed now, that I had apologized to the person months ago and nothing more was ever said. Again, I figured the matter would be dropped. She sent back some scalding letter and it really pissed me off, because I think of myself as highly tolerant, and those who know me always say how NICE I am, I would never go out of my way to hurt someone’s feelings or out someone just to be douchey. It’s not who I am!

I whined to my BFF Xolve, someone who at the time was a Director of Fweddit, and he took some Fwedditors into the public channel and said things. (typical Fweddit style)

I left the Women of EVE channel because it wasn’t worth the hassle, and she threatened to ban me anyhow.

Oh well.

But for every mean girl, I’ve met some really nice ones too. Hitome Kei, Persephone Proserpine, and Greygal (all of Amarr Militia) are super awesome.

Outside of Militia, Sindel Pellion is super nice and fiesty, I also have met Mintchip a couple of times. Love her or hate her, I think she does a lot of good for EVE. She has tons of followers from other games, and I feel like she exposes EVE to a lot of people who might not have seen it or been interested in it.

And of course there is my nemesis, the dreadfully evil Susan Black of the Minmatar. She’s not really my nemesis, but everyone likes to pit us against one another merely because we are both females with a blog on opposite sides of a war. Silly, but it is what it is.  When I think of Susan and I, I compare us to Glinda and Elphaba from ‘Wicked’.  Good witch (me)  and bad witch (her) who eventually become friends.

 

Until that happens, I leave you with a song …

 

What is this feeling?
Fervid as a flame,
Does it have a name?
Yes! Loathing
Unadulterated loathing
For your blog
Your ships
Your trolling
I loathe it all
Ev’ry little post, however small
Makes my very flesh begin to crawl
With simple utter loathing
There’s a strange exhilaration
In such total detestation
It’s so pure, so strong!
Though I do admit it came on fast
Still I do believe that it will last
And I will be loathing
Your blog
My whole life long!

(Amarr Militia):
Dear Shalee, you are just too good
How do you stand it? I don’t think I could!
She’s a terror! Minmatar!
We don’t mean to show a bias,
But Shalee, you’re a martyr!

(Shalee):
Well; these things are sent to try us!

(Amarr Militia):
Poor Shalee, forced to reside
near someone so disgusticified
We just want to tell you:
We’re all on your side!
We all share your loathing…

Loathing her blog our whole lives long!

10 Responses to “Girls On Eve”

  1. Came hoping for girl on girl. Left impressed nonetheless.

  2. Bleh, if I’d know that was what happened with the WGoE channel I would’ve said something at the time. And yes, I would definitely agree that a lot of the girls in EVE are VERY special snowflakes – in the best way possible, of course! 😉

  3. ❤ u too, Shalee! Great post, died laughing! Just goes to show that women can be just as catty and mean to each other in game as they often are out of game (unfortunately!)

  4. I read the KOTMC blog.

    How do you roleplay that gets people in such a kerfuffle? What exactly about it seems to bother people? Curious.

  5. Hi, this is Vieve’s RL alt. (In case you were wondering who was the crazy person who liked your post.)

    I’ve had similar experiences as you have — though, I’ll admit I didn’t make it as far as the interview stage for WGoE. 🙂

  6. I’ve known a few women in EVE, but I always felt like no matter how I talked to them it somehow came off as the typical nerd flirt thing. So, I usually stay quiet.

  7. Kuan Yida Says:

    I think female politics get a bit nastier and personal than male politics. We just beat the crap out of each other and become friends, or we whack them (not usually in RL, of course). I’ve now met several Eve girls IRL thanks to Eve Vegas and they were all pretty cool. And I feel like I’m personal buds with Shalee and chums with Susan too.

    Anyhow, I do miss the RP stuff Shalee and I did together (some neat collaborations). Hopefully someday Eve will get more chick friendly too, but I guess it’s mainly the Sci-Fi vs. Fantasy genre thing that’s probably the main obstacle, though most of my favorite sci-fi authors are women.

  8. Silence ikillyouu Says:

    U and Susan could 1v1 maybe.
    Just for something to do.

  9. It wasn’t a channel for me 🙂 The few girls I’ve met and flown with so far have been very cool. I’m thankful for that.

Leave a Reply

