Why I heart CCP


Browsing Poetical Stanziel’s blog yesterday, I came across a post that intrigued me about an EVE personality leaving the game over some drama.

I nosed around and got the details, which is pretty much summed up on the girl’s blog about why she is leaving.

Like Poe, I really have nothing to add to the departure because I barely knew the girl, etc. (thou I’m always sad to see someone leave EVE)

But after reading her goodbye post (rant) I felt like I should speak up on the behalf of CCP whom she paints in a really bad light, specifically one CCPer in specific.

My experience with him has been nothing but awesome. A couple of years ago, I wanted to transfer a character of mine from one of my paid accounts to my media account. (Media accounts are given when people sign up for the fansites program) There was a problem with the transfer, it wasn’t going through because I was trying to transfer to the media account. I sent in a petition, and was told I needed to email Ned.

I sent him the email and explained the situation. I was utterly surprised by the quick response, which was awesome. He was on vacation at the time and gave me the date he would be back to take care of it. I mean really, he didn’t have to bother emailing me while on vacation, but he did. Once he was back, he did take care of it promptly. He even sent another email letting me know the issue was sorted. For free.

How fabulous was that?

It’s just one of the many instances I’ve experienced with CCP, where one of them will go out of their way to be of help.

I’ve had another experience recently with my media account, where it was approved for another year long free subscription (and really how f’n awesome is that?) but some how it wasn’t entered into the system correctly on their end. So on Saturday before last (I think it was), my subscription expired. Well, it was a Saturday I wanted to play right then lol, so I went ahead and just paid for my account while sending a mail to Thomas (the guy over the fansite stuff now) asking what happened. It was sorted out a couple of days after that, and I was even refunded my payment!

These are small things in the grand scheme of EVE, but I just wanted to say I’m very appreciative of their efforts, and I wanted to illustrate just how untrue this statement from that other blog is so untrue:

“CCP Games cares nothing for it’s fan sites and the smallest sentence or slightest misstep will cause them to turn their backs on you as well.”

From my experience, CCP Games goes out of their way to show you how much they care.

Thank you CCP for all that you do.

Leave a Reply

